TalentZoo.com |  Beyond Madison Avenue |  Flack Me |  Beneath the Brand Archives  |  Categories
Facebook Changes the Game of Hide and Seek
By: Aprel Phelps Downey
Bookmark and Share Subscribe to the Digital Pivot RSS Feed Share
Part of the childhood thrill in a game of hide and seek is finding the best hiding spot. The more secluded you could become during the game, the better your chances of being the last one found. Facebook affords many of us the luxury of finding that elusive hiding spot amongst the prying eyes of the social media world. Now it seems that you can run but you can no longer hide on Facebook.
 
The social media powerhouse has announced plans to tweak certain security features once again. Facebook users will soon begin to see the option to hide from the "who can look up your Timeline by name" feature vanish into thin air. As a result you will now become completely searchable on Facebook. All someone looking to find you will need to know is your name. Once entered into the search bar it will bring that user straight to your profile. Prior to the change you had the option of remaining hidden. Now Facebook is requiring you to be out in the open just like everybody else.
 
Rest assured that your profile content pages, photos, and other account features previously set to "private" under the security section will remain intact. You will also continue to have the option to share pictures, posts, and status updates with an audience outside of your default settings. Your available options include: friends, friends of friends, public, and only me. Each attempt to post something outside of your default settings will be met with a reminder prompt that you are about to share something with the entire Facebook community.
 
Facebook frequently makes changes to its security features. Therefore it is beneficial to you to check and make sure your settings remain intact. You can do this by going to the settings tab at the upper right corner of the homepage. From there click "security" and make sure everything is set to your desire.
 
You can quickly update your privacy selections by visiting your activity log. From here you can view all of the posts you’ve made, your comments and likes on other profile pages, and any tags that you may be a part of. Sort through each item and change the intended audience as needed. You can also delete or hide posts that you made and no longer wish even your closest Facebook confidant to view. This feature can come in handy should you turn to Facebook to vent about an office situation or an aggravating friend.
 
This latest security update move by Facebook will certainly change the way the social media hide-and-seek game is played. Now everyone is out in the open with no chance of being the last one found! 


Bookmark and Share Subscribe to the Digital Pivot RSS Feed Share
blog comments powered by Disqus
About the Author
Aprel Phelps Downey is a writing/marketing professional who holds more than seven years marketing experience, including all aspects of promotional and informational campaigns and website development.  To learn more about Aprel please visit her website at www.aprelphelpsdowney.com or follow her on twitter: @aphelpsdowney.
Digital Pivot on

Advertise on Digital Pivot
Return to Top