TalentZoo.com |  Beyond Madison Avenue |  Flack Me |  Beneath the Brand Archives  |  Categories
The Flipside of Deleting Facebook Photos Forever
By: Christine Geraci
Bookmark and Share Subscribe to the Digital Pivot RSS Feed Share
As I've said in the past, I'm no big fan of the notable absence of user-friendliness on Facebook, particularly when it comes to privacy. 
 
But here's an interesting recent development that caught my eye: When you delete a photo from Facebook, it will now supposedly be gone forever — as in, even if you have the unique image URL, you won't be able to fetch a photo back. Up until recently, that wasn't the case. Apparently anyone smart enough to copy the image URL could go back and view deleted photos in perpetuity (I never did this. In fact, I never even realized you could do it. Because I mind my own gosh-darned business.)
 
At first, I was happy about this. But then, I saw the flipside to this development...and (gasp!) found myself having a slight change of heart.
 
Whether we agree with it or not, Facebook is a fully legitimate method of communication, meaning that whatever you say or do on the social network can be used for or against you. We've seen countless headlines about how everything people do on Facebook can be used against them in a court of law. Police make arrests, people get divorced, bullies get punished — all based on stuff people have posted on Facebook.
 
Does this new image-deleting development mean that someone looking to flaunt an indiscretion in a photo can do so, then delete said image, with no chance of said photo ever being recovered for use as evidence in a court of law?
 
If that's the case, let's hope more people know how to take screenshots


Bookmark and Share Subscribe to the Digital Pivot RSS Feed Share
blog comments powered by Disqus
About the Author
Christine Geraci is the Social Media/Promotions Specialist at MVP Health Care in Schenectady, NY. Connect with her on Twitter @christinegeraci.
Digital Pivot on

Advertise on Digital Pivot
Return to Top