TalentZoo.com |  Flack Me |  Digital Pivot |  Beneath the Brand Archives  |  Categories
Facebooking from the Grave
By: Jessica Cherok
Bookmark and Share Subscribe to the Digital Pivot RSS Feed Share
Facebook now has a way to allow someone to handle your social media affairs after you die. This week, Facebook announced its new legacy contact feature.

You can now designate someone as your legacy contact, giving them access to your Facebook page after you die. They can:
  • Write a post to display at the top of the memorialized Timeline (for example, to announce a memorial service or share a special message)
  • Respond to new friend requests from family members and friends who were not yet connected on Facebook
  • Update the profile picture and cover photo
The legacy contact can also download everything from your account.

According to Facebook’s post about the new feature:
 
“Until now, when someone passed away, we offered a basic memorialized account which was viewable, but could not be managed by anyone. By talking to people who have experienced loss, we realized there is more we can do to support those who are grieving and those who want a say in what happens to their account after death.”

If you don’t want to have your Facebook account continue on after you have passed, you can set up your Facebook account to be deleted entirely upon your death.

   

Bookmark and Share Subscribe to the Digital Pivot RSS Feed Share
blog comments powered by Disqus
About the Author
Jessica Cherok is an advocate for online privacy, campaigning for ethical data practices and the protection of personal privacy.
Beyond Madison Avenue on

Advertise on Beyond Madison Avenue
Return to Top