TalentZoo.com |  Beyond Madison Avenue |  Flack Me |  Digital Pivot Archives  |  Categories
Uber Now Allowing Users to Opt Out of Location Tracking
By: The Verge
Bookmark and Share Subscribe to the Digital Pivot RSS Feed Share

Uber got into hot water earlier this year when the ride-sharing app began tracking users’ location even when they weren’t using the app. The app limited users to giving the company permission to either always track their location or to not track their location at all — the latter option making the app all but unusable. Backed into a corner, users had no option but to grant Uber access to their locations 24/7. At the time, Uber defended the tracking as a way to enhance rider safety, and would restrict tracking to a five-minute limit after each ride.

Now, the rollout of iOS 11 gives users the option of limiting app access to location only when the app is in use, regardless of the developer’s desire. As a result, Uber updated its iOS app with options to share location “while using the app,” “always,” and “never” in location settings — control that will also benefit iPhone owners still on iOS 10. 

READ MORE

 


   

Bookmark and Share Subscribe to the Digital Pivot RSS Feed Share
About the Author
This article was published on The Verge. A link to the original article can be found after the post.
Beneath the Brand on

Advertise on Beneath the Brand
Return to Top