TalentZoo.com |  Beyond Madison Avenue |  Flack Me |  Digital Pivot Archives  |  Categories
Will 'Memories' Change Snapchat as We Know It?
By: Hubspot
Bookmark and Share Subscribe to the Digital Pivot RSS Feed Share
Over the past three years, Snapchat has been slowly moving away from its original concept: a place for creating and sharing ephemeral content that disappears immediately after being shared. With the introduction of Stories in 2013, a feature that allows photos and videos to be visible for 24 hours, the app started inching away from that mission.

This week, Snapchat took a giant leap away from its initial premise by introducing Memories. The new feature enables users to share content after the initial photo has been taken, allowing for a more curated (and less instantaneous) experience.

But is this too far away from the Snapchat its core user base loves? Will Snapchat shoot itself in the foot by trying to capture a broader audience?

Here's everything you need to know about Memories, and what it might mean for the future of the social app.

What's New in Snapchat Memories
Memories contains four sections: Snaps you’ve taken, Stories you’ve posted, Camera Roll (photos from your phone’s camera), and “My Eyes Only” -- a passcode-protected folder for “personal” Snaps. You can access Memories by swiping up from your Camera screen.

KEEP READING HERE

   

Bookmark and Share Subscribe to the Digital Pivot RSS Feed Share
blog comments powered by Disqus
About the Author
This article was published on Hubspot. A link to the original article can be found after the post. www.blog.hubspot.com
Beneath the Brand on

Advertise on Beneath the Brand
Return to Top